064. Driftwood.

31Mar08

This is just a request post: tell me of a song that has moved you. Tell me the exact part, the exact time, when you shivered, where you suddenly got it, the music that brought you to tears.

Or, that you just got stuck in your head for a year and a day. Whichever.

Title is my current earworm, “Driftwood: A Fairy Tale”, by Cursive.The last few lines. The whole song, really, but “But still he walked on, amongst the whales/ and the waves, and screamed/ ‘Liar, liar!'” Freakin’ Moses. He always plays Cursive when he’s driving. Over Easter, I was humming “The Recluse” under my breath, driven mad by my inability to name the song I was singing. Thank god for Trev- he knew exactly which song it was.

Easter playlist/earworms were as follows:

“The Recluse” Cursive
[Lines: You’re in my web now/I’ve come/to wrap you up tight ’til it’s time to bite down]
“Crane Wife 3” The Decemberists
[Line: And I will hang my head, hang my head low]
“Not an Addict” K’s Choice
[It’s not a habit, it’s cool, I feel alive/If you don’t have it you’re on the other side]
“Disarm” Smashing Pumpkins
[Lines: The killer in me is the killer in you/my love/ I send this smile over to you]
“Songbird” Eva Cassidy
[Lines: And the songbirds keep singing like they know the score/and I love you, I love you, I love you/ like never before]

The first, blame Moses. The second, WAC and Leah’s awesomeness. The third, Lily and Molly, my roomates first session last year- and Joseph, for bringing it up. The forth, JJ and his guitar. The fifth, my mom.

“And now I wonder how I was made.
And now I wonder how I was made.
My arms, my legs, my heart, my face,
my name is Driftwood”

4 Responses to “064. Driftwood.”

  1. 1 raalla

    The Con. Tegan and Sara.
    “I’m capsized, erring on the edge of safe….”
    “…nobody likes to, but I really like to cry, nobody likes me, maybe if I cry?”
    “I followed suit and laid out on my back, imagine that. A million hours left to think of you…”

  2. 2 Leah

    Earworms of the moment:
    Paloma (Carbon Leaf)
    The Brightening Air (David Brewbaker) (my choir)
    Children and All That Jazz (Joan Baez)

    Stuff that moves me:
    strangely, old (read: thomas tallis) church music.
    Decatur, or, Round of Applause For Your Stepmother (Sufjan Stevens)

    and I could go on and on.

    both Clementine and You Are My Sunshine make me cry now. Few other songs or pieces are.

  3. 3 Leah

    And by are, I meant are able to…

    way to speak English, Leah. Way to speak.

  4. 4 katling

    Yay! Finally online!

    I’d have to say my earworms of the moment are:

    “Grace Kelly” ~Mika
    “Ring Ring” ~Mika (AGAIN)
    “Voodoo Child”~Rouge Traders

    Complete sugar for my mind, but at least it tastes good….:)


Leave a Reply

